Board Chair – Cliff Meness

Cliff was instrumental in the creation of the A/OFRC as one of the founding Directors; he served as the first chairman. He has served over 17 years as a community leader (Chief 13 years and Councilor 4 years) and presently holds a position on council with the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan. He is a former member of the Union of Ontario Indians Board of Directors and the Anishinabek/Ontario Resource Management Council. He presently works on the Trapping Harmonization Agreement with Ontario, Canada and the UOI. He was also a firefighter (air, crash & rescue) with DND and holds international firefighter certification and is an instructor for Search and Rescue. Cliff is an active trapper, hunter and fisherman when time permits.

All appointments to the Chair are jointly approved by the Grand Council Chief of the Anishinabek Nation and the Minister of Natural Resources.

Board Member – Frank Kennedy

Director of the Science and Information Branch, Frank was previously Manager of Business Solutions Services-Forests. Starting his career with the OMNR in 1977, he has provided leadership with the Land Use Planning Branch and has considerable Senior management experience, including Forest Management Planning, Environmental Assessment and Land Use Planning.

Board Member – Kevin Reid

Kevin Reid joined the A/OFRC Board in September 2014. Kevin has been the Fisheries Scientist for the Ontario Commercial Fisheries’ Association (OCFA) since he joined the OCFA in November 2002, but he has been involved in Great Lakes fisheries research and management since 1985. A graduate of the Honours Fisheries Science Program at the University of Guelph in 1984, Kevin has worked as a professional fisheries scientist since 1989 when he graduated from Trent University with a M.Sc. degree from the Watershed Ecosystems Graduate Program while studying the rehabilitation of pike spawning habitat. He has worked with the commercial fishermen and fish processors of various Great Lakes since 1992.  He currently serves as a commercial fishing industry representative on numerous fisheries committees such as the Fisheries Advisory Councils for Lake Ontario (since 2004), Lake Erie (since 2002), Lake Huron (since 2003) and Georgian Bay/North Channel (since 2010) and he is also a member of the Scientific Committee of the NSERC Canadian Fisheries Research Network. Kevin has completed a doctoral degree in 2016 at the University of Guelph where his research was focused on Bayesian methods for risk assessment and management of Great Lakes fisheries.

Board Member – Tom Whillans

Tom is an ecologist with particular interests in fisheries, fish habitat, wetlands, co-management, community development, traditional knowledge, watershed restoration, historical ecology, bioregionalism, restoration ecology and related environmental problems. His doctoral work was in the Department of Zoology, while located at the Institute for Environmental Studies, at the University of Toronto. Since 1983, he has been a professor in the Environmental and Resource Studies Program, Trent University. He chaired the Program from 1989-91 and 1994-5. Lately he has been involved particularly in the development of the community-based research and education program at the university.

Most of Tom’s research has focused on problems in the Great Lakes basin, although he has worked in both the Northwest Territories and Ecuador on issues relating to aboriginal use and the management of watershed and aquatic resources. He is currently the Director of INSTRUCT, a 6-year community-based watershed management program in Ecuador and Mexico, funded by the Canadian International Development Agency. It combines research, education and development. Tom is and has been a member of and on the Boards of many community and scientific organizations. These have focused mostly on natural resource management and restoration and on community development.

Approved by the Grand Chief, Anishinabek Nation

Board Member – Rick Stevens

As a board member with the A/OFRC, Rick Stevens brings a vast amount of personal and professional experience in fisheries and resource management. He presently serves as a councilor for Nipissing First Nation, and has done so since 1994. During much of that time he held the Natural Resources portfolio while also being an active hunter, commercial fisherman and trapper. He was very instrumental in the creation of Nipissing First Nation’s Fisheries Law passed by the people of his community. This has been a major accomplishment that Rick is very proud of.

He is part owner/operator of Nipissing Bait, harvesting minnows & leeches while selling them wholesale to local markets. The major part of Rick’s livelihood has and continues to be utilizing the surrounding natural resources. Through traditional knowledge passed on to him Rick has learned his skills in hunting and trapping. He also previously owned and operated a silver fox ranch from 1987 to 1998. Over the last 20 years he has been a past board member of the North Bay Greater Stewardship Council, Anishinabek Health Commission and the Nipissing First Nation fur plant, where he was elected as the vice president.

Board Member – Frank Hardy

Frank is a First Nations member of the Rocky Bay First Nation (Biinjitiwaabik Zaaging Anishinaabek). He has lived in his homeland for all his life, except for short periods for education or employment. He truly wants his community to thrive and become self-sufficient, as his community hold the environment as the most important resource they have. The Elders of his community continue to protect his lands. His past employment includes being a Commercial Fisherman on Lake Nipigon and Lake Superior, a Fisheries Technician with the Rocky Nay Fisheries Unit, a Senior Fisheries Technician with the Anishinabek/Ontario Fisheries Resource Centre, and the Lands & Resources Coordinator for the Rocky Bay First Nation. Frank has been a Councillor for Rocky Bay First Nation for a total of 8 terms. Frank was part of the team that formed the current Nokiiwin Tribal Council serving a number of First Nations communities in the Robinson Superior Treaty Area. Frank currently sits on three Boards as a Director – Lake Nipigon Forest Management Inc., Waakiinaysay Ziibi Inc., and Waaskonaasay Energy Ltd.